Shoot/Get Treasure/Repeat

DOI: 10.5040/9781408167687.00000002
Roles: Male (32) , Female (12) , Neutral (0)

Shoot/Get Treasure/Repeat is an epic cycle of 16 short plays examining the personal and political effect of war on modern life. Each of the plays is named after an existing classical work as Ravenhill stages the intensity of individual pain against a glimpsed vast narrative of conflict. A child talks to a headless man, a woman is afflicted with mysterious intestinal pain, a couple talk about their garden bench, a soldier demands love from a woman whose country he has liberated. Each new play is a fragment of suffering, and a fierce sardonic attack on the war on terror. The scenes are lightly connected, but can be performed in any combination or order.

Shoot/Get Treasure/Repeat was first produced as Ravenhill for Breakfast in 2007 at the Traverse Theatre, Edinburgh. Also included is a seventeenth play entitled Paradise Regained, an epilogue to the cycle, first presented in 2008 at the Royal Court Theatre, London.

From Shoot/Get Treasure/Repeat


Bloomsbury Publishing

Mark Ravenhill

ISBN: 9781408108710

Series: Modern Plays

Buy this work