Shadows Of The Evening: from Suite in Three Keys

DOI: 10.5040/9781408163016.00000044
Acts: 1. Scenes: 2. Roles: Male (2) , Female (2) , Neutral (0)

Shadows of the Evening is the second play in the trilogy, Suite in Three Keys, in which each play is set in the same Swiss hotel suite. It was written by Coward in 1966, and represents the last of his output for the stage before he died.

In Shadows of the Evening, George Hilgay is dying. His mistress Linda has called his estranged wife Anne, hoping for a rapprochement between the three parties to make the end of George's life a more positive experience. What follows is a delicate choreography of emotion, betrayal and, ultimately, forgiveness.

From Coward Plays: 5


Bloomsbury Publishing

Noël Coward

ISBN: 9780413517401

Series: World Classics

Buy this work