DOI: 10.5040/9781408162262.00000194
Roles: Male (8) , Female (5) , Neutral (0)

Emma’s Time is the third part of a trilogy, sometimes called the Kelvin trilogy, with On the Eve of Publication and The Cellar and the Almond Tree. In Emma’s Time the fluid cuts between past and present, fantasy and flashbacks show Emma searching for the meaning of her relationship with Robert Kelvin, the socialist writer whose death was the subject of On the Eve of Publication.

Her attempts to come to terms with his psychological and political legacies are followed by a television documentary maker. She visits his mother, his dying brother in Paris, and meets Sladek, otherwise known as Volubin, tracing the international political events which were the landscape of Robert’s life, in a concluding play of great scope and power.

Emma’s Time was first broadcast in 1970 by BBC Television.

From Mercer Plays: 1


Bloomsbury Publishing

David Mercer

ISBN: 9780413634504

Series: Contemporary Dramatists

Buy this work