Come into the Garden Maud: from Suite in Three Keys

DOI: 10.5040/9781408163016.00000050
Scenes: 2. Roles: Male (2) , Female (2) , Neutral (0)

Come into the Garden Maud is the final play in the trilogy, Suite in Three Keys, in which each play is set in the same Swiss hotel suite. It was written by Coward in 1966, and represents the last of his output for the stage before he died.

Anna-Mary Conklin and her husband Verner are an exceedingly wealthy American couple and the stars of Come into the Garden Maud. While Anna-Mary, a social-aspirant, is nervously throwing a dinner-party offstage to entertain a prince she wants to impress, Verner – who cares little for the niceties of society life – gets along very well with the aristocratic, but down-to-earth, Maud Caragnani – very well indeed.

From Coward Plays: 5


Bloomsbury Publishing

Noël Coward

ISBN: 9780413517401

Series: World Classics

Buy this work