DOI: 10.5040/9781408189351.00000049
Acts: 3. Roles: Male (2) , Female (1) , Neutral (0)

Alice Trilogy is a haunting triptych of disappointment and gnawing sadness. Three acts, closer to monologues than conversations, show three ages in the life of Alice, an unhappy housewife.

1980, in the afternoon murk of her attic, with whiskey in her coffee, is she losing her grip on reality?

1995, she has summoned a lost love to meet her by the gasworks wall.

2005, at the airport, a tragedy presses to the surface of her internal monologue.

Alice is a mesmerising creation, existing only half in her domestic married life, and half in a dream-like world of alter-egos and strange detachment.

Alice Trilogy premiered at the Royal Court Theatre in 2005.

From Murphy Plays: 5


Bloomsbury Publishing

Tom Murphy

ISBN: 9780713683639

Series: Contemporary Dramatists

Buy this work